Friday, August 11, 2000

Consistent champions

By Quah Seng Sun

FOR the fourth successive year, the Penang Chess League challenge trophy has gone the way of the Penang Free School. In the 10th edition of this annual chess competition in Penang, now sponsored by leading global personal computer manufacturer Dell Computers, the PFS (A) team showed why they continue to be the dominant force in the state.

They started the tournament on a rather subdued note, trailing behind the early leaders, the Chung Ling Old Boys Association and the Old Frees Association. By the fourth round, however, the PFS (A) had caught up with these two leaders and a round later, the team moved into the lead with a slim one-point margin ahead of Chung Ling Old Boys.

This was the opportunity that the Free School players had been waiting for. For the rest of the tournament, they simply built on this lead and were, in fact, never in danger of losing it to any of the other teams.

The Penang Free team receiving their trophy from Penang state executive councillor Datuk Dr Toh Kin Woon. Dell Computer managing director Simon Wong is third from left.

Second-placed Chung Ling High School (A) had perhaps the best chance of closing the gap on the league leaders. The two teams met in the crucial eighth round but whereas a 3-1 result should be the least that the CLHS (A) could look for in order to tie with the PFS (A) on equal points, the match ended in a 2-2 draw.

This interesting match practically decided the winner of the chess league's premier division since in the final round, PFS (A) was never troubled by Dell (A), winning by an expected 4-0 result.

By contrast, the Chung Ling team had to play their seniors, the Chung Ling Old Boys. Although CLHS (A) prevailed at the end, their triumph was only achieved with great effort as they only managed a 3-1 win.

The winner in the league's first division was the Universiti Sains Malaysia team which finished with a comfortable three-point lead over their nearest rivals, CLHS (D).

The Penang Development Corporation (B) team emerged victor in the second division, taking the top prize with a round to spare. Despite drawing a bye in the final round, the PDC (B) could afford to relax as they were leading by 4.5 points. None of the other teams were successful in closing the gap significantly on PDC (B).

Final standings in the Premier Division: PFS A (28 points), CLHS A (25.5), CLOBA (22), OFA (18.5), Dell A (13), CLHS B (12), PFS B (10), Pessca (9.5), PCA Novices A (4.5).

Division One: USM (22.5), CLHS D (19.5), CLHS C (18.5), PDC A (18.5), PCA Novices B (15), SXI (13.5), SMK Hamid Khan A (13), Hitachi (12.5), PFS C (11).

Division Two: PDC B (23.5), Dell B (21), PCA Ladies (20), MSSPP Girls (19.5), MSSPP Juniors (18), PFS D (14), CLHS E (10.5), SMK Hamid Khan B (9), PFS E (8.5).

Detailed results can be viewed on the Penang Chess Association homepage (


Langkawi (Sept 7): The Malaysia Book Village will organise the first Langkawi International Chess Tournament at their premises in Lubuk Semilang, Langkawi. This event is sponsored by RHB Bank.

The open section of the tournament will offer three main prizes: RM750, RM500 and RM300, with five consolation prizes of RM50 each. For the under-16 section, the main prizes are RM150, RM75 and RM50, while the three winners of the under-12 section will get RM100, RM75 and RM50. Each section will also have three consolation prizes of RM20 each.

Entry fees are RM15 for the open section, and RM5 for both the under-16 and under-12 sections. Closing date for entries is Sept 5. To register or for further details, contact the Book Village secretariat ( 04-955 5568 / fax: 04-955 5562 / e-mail:

Terengganu Open (Sept 7 to 9): The Terengganu Chess Association (TCA) will hold their annual state chess tournament at the Batu Burok Beach Resort in Kuala Terengganu.

There are 10 cash prizes for the open section of this event with RM1,000 going to the winner and RM700 to the runner-up. The minor prizes range from RM500 for the third, to RM50 for the 10th.

There is also a novice section in this event. Entry fees for the open section are RM20 for TCA members and RM30 for non-members. Fees for the novice section are RM10 for TCA members and RM15 for non-members.

For more information, contact Muhammad Arshad ( 018-895 8041 / e-mail:


Quah Seng Sun's e-mail address is His previous chess articles are archived at Logo

More @

News | Business | Classifieds | Directory | e-Cards | Entertainment | Lifestyle | Technology

© 1995-2000 Star Publications (Malaysia) Bhd (Co No 10894-D)
Managed by I.STAR Sdn Bhd (Co No 422871-T).